Governing Body at St Georges Primary School

Revd Kevin Evans: Chair of Governing Body (Church of England Foundation)

Mrs S Sixsmith: Headteacher

Mr A Talbot: Vice Chair of Governing Body (Church of England Foundation)

Mr R Betteridge: Specialism Health and Safety

Mr J Jones: Specialism School Performance

Mrs R Humphries: School Staff Governor

Mrs J Smith: Parent Governor

Mrs W Shedden: Parent Govenor

Mrs N Bevan: Parent Governor - Specialism SEND

Mrs K Watts: Deputy Head, School Performance Phase 2 - Associate Governor

Mrs S Foxley: Assistant Head, School Performance Phase 1 - Associate Governor


Profiles of St George’s C of E Governors July 2018


Revd. Kevin Evans                Foundation Governor                        Chair of Governors/Safeguarding

Revd. Kevin Evans is the vicar at St George’s Church. He has been involved with primary school governing bodies since the year 2000. Revd. Evans has served as chair of governors at three local primary school. He therefore provides experienced leadership in his role as chair of St George’s C of E Primary School Governing Body, a position he had held since 2016.


Term of office ends: 31/08/2023

Attendance Record 80%

Total length of service: 4years 1 month


Mrs Natalie Bevan                SEND responsibilities            Vice Chair of Governors

Mrs Natalie Bevan is a parent at St George’s and an LA SEND project lead and SEND team lead who specialises in supporting children with special educational needs and disability.(SEND) Mrs Bevan is currently the vice chair of the governing body, appointed in the autumn of 2017. Mrs Bevan has been on the committee of Little Dragons Playgroup and provides an important link to a partner organisation on the school site.


Term of office ends: 30/11/2020

Attendance Record: 75%

Total length of service: 1 year 6 months


Mr Alan Talbot                     Foundation Governor                       

Mr Alan Talbot is currently a church warden at St George’s Church. He has served St George’s Church in various capacities for fifty years. He has long associations with local schools, having previously chaired the local secondary school and had the role of vice chair of governors at St George’s. Mr Talbot provides a vital link to our church foundation and the local community.


Term of office ends: 31/08/2023

Attendance Record: 100%

Total length of service 6 years 7 months





Mr Roger Betteridge            Health and safety responsibility


Mr Roger Betteridge is our longest standing governor. He has been on the governing body for thirty one years in total, with two spells supporting the school. Mr Betteridge has taken on various roles over a significant number of years. He is taking responsibility currently for health and safety. 

Mr Betteridge provides invaluable experience across different sectors of education. He has been involved with key developments over a number of years in St George’s journey to the outstanding school it is today.


Term of office ends: 31/08/2023

Attendance Record: 94%

Total length of service: 20 years 8 months (Note previous appointment to governing body.)


Mrs Jane Smith               Parent Governor



Term of office ends: 06/01/2023

Attendance Record: 

Total length of service: 


Mrs Wendy Shedden                        Parent Governor

Mrs Wendy Shedden provides a new face on the governing body being elected in autumn 2017 by the parent body. She is an experienced primary teacher at a Telford School, as well of a parent of a young child at St George’s. This will give her a unique perspective to support the school as we move forward.


Term of office ends: 01/01/2022

Attendance Record: 100%

Total length of service: 5 months


Mr John Jones                                   School leadership/standards responsibility

Mr John Jones is a retired Headteacher of a local secondary school. He brings the qualities of an experienced, senior education professional to the governing body. Mr Jones is responsible for scrutiny of data and is instrumental in supporting the strategic development of the school. This professional input is backed by a thorough knowledge of the school community he knows so well from his time as a serving Headteacher in the area.


Term of office ends: 06/4/2021

Attendance Record::80%

Total length of service: 1 year 2 months


Mrs Rachel Humphreys       Staff Governor

Mrs Rachel Humphreys has worked as a senior teaching assistant for twenty years at St George’s. Her own child was a pupil at the school. She is familiar with the day to day working at St George’s and has been chosen by the staff to represent them on the governing body for a second time.


Term of office ends: 19/10/2019

Attendance Record: 66%

Total length of service: 2 years 8 months (Note previous appointment to governing body.)


Mrs Sally Sixsmith                    Headteacher



Term of office; Tenure of headship

Attendance Record; 

Total length of service: 


Annual Report 2015.2016

Annual Report 2017.2018

Annual Report 2018.2019